Campus Involvement

Discover an organization that matches your personal and professional career goals. 

Getting involved in any of Rio's clubs and organizations can enhance and enrich your college experience. Not only will you gain valuable leadership and communication skills, but you'll also find lifelong friendships as well. 

All Greek Council
Description: All Greek Council is the governing body of social Greek organizations at Rio Grande. AGC sponsors and encourages activities and functions that promote the intellectual, cultural and social development of individual fraternity and sorority members as expressed in the goals of the University of Rio Grande, which leads to the strengthening and improvement of the member organizations. 
Advisor: Seth Lawrence slawrence@rio.edu 
President: Victoria Wilson vwilson01@rio.edu

Student Senate
Description: Student Senate works to assure proper representation is given to all students at Rio Grande. Consisting of representatives from each academic area, Senate meets regularly during the academic year to address issues facing campus. All meetings are open to current students. 
Advisor: Seth Lawrence slawrence@rio.edu 
President: Ashleigh Miller-Weaver amiller-weaver01@rio.edu

Co-Curricular Organizations and Honor Societies
American Marketing Association
Description: The purpose of the University of Rio Grande American Marketing Association shall be to foster scientific study and research in the field of marketing. Membership is open to students of any major who are interested in marketing. 
Advisor: Wesley Thoene wthoene@rio.edu 
President: Finn Tomlin ftomlin01@rio.edu

Future Nurses Service Club
Description: The purpose of the Future Nurses Service Club is to encourage, promote, and build a greater understanding of the field of nursing throughout the student body, university and community. URG Future Nurses Service Club will host meetings, student activities, and community service work. Membership is open to students who aspire to be admitted to or are already enrolled in a nursing program.
Advisor: Michelle Young myoung@rio.edu 
 

Lambda Nu
Description: Lambda Nu is a national honor society for the radiologic and imaging sciences. The purpose of the Ohio Zeta Chapter is to foster academic scholarship, promote research and investigation in the radiologic and imaging sciences, and recognize exemplary scholarship. Membership is limited to qualifying students. 
Advisor: Chris Barker cbarker@rio.edu 
 

Medical Math and Science Club
Description: The organization exists to aid members with developing mathematical skills, to aid members interested in medical school, veterinary school and other professional schools, and to provide a friendly forum for those with interests in math and science. Membership is open to any student with these interests.
Advisor: Dana Evans danae@rio.edu 
 

Phi Alpha Theta
Description: The purpose of the Rio Grande Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta shall be to further the interest and development of history as a scholarly discipline at the University of Rio Grande/Rio Grande Community College and in the local community. Membership is open to any student who has completed 12 semester hours in history with a GPA of 3.0+ and have a 3.0 in two-thirds of their remaining credit hours.
Advisor: Scott Beekman sbeekman@rio.edu 
 

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society
Description: The mission of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize academic achievement of college students and to provide opportunities for them to grow as scholars and leaders. Membership is invitation-only and limited to students who have completed at least 12 semester hours and who hold a GPA of 3.5 or higher.
Advisor: Stephanie Alexander alexander@rio.edu 
 

Psychology Club
Description: The mission of Psychology Club is to encourage, promote and build a greater understanding of the field of psychology throughout the student body, University and community. Psychology Club frequently hosts meetings, student activities and community service work throughout the academic year. Membership is open to any students with an interest in psychology.
Advisor: Adam Herreid aherreid@rio.edu
President: Victoria Wilson vwilson01@rio.edu 

Sigma Tau Delta
Description: The English Honor Society shall strive to confer distinction for high achievement in English language and literature, provide cultural stimulation on campus and promote interest in literature and language, and serve society by fostering literacy. Membership is open to any student who has a minimum 3.0 GPA, has completed 3 semesters of college course work and 2 college courses in English beyond the requirement of freshman English (i.e. Composition and/or Reading & Writing). 
Advisor: Laura Miller lauram@rio.edu 
 

Social Work Student Council
Description: The purpose of the Social Work Student Council is to provide a stimulant to scholastic achievement, become actively involved in voluntary social work, be a voice to the wants and needs of social work majors and promote fellowship among social work students. 
Advisor: Paul Dovyak pdovyak@rio.edu 
President: Brady Williams bwilliams02@rio.edu

University of Rio Grande Student Chapter of the Wildlife Society
Description: The Wildlife Society is a professional organization of wildlife professionals and students interested in conservation. Our organization’s mission is to inspire, empower, and enable wildlife professionals to sustain wildlife populations and habitats through science-based management and conservation. The Wildlife Society enhances our members’ networking and learning opportunities, professional and career development, and provides numerous ways for them to get more involved in creating a better future for wildlife and their habitats. 
Advisor: Wayne Rossiter wrossiter@rio.edu
President: Brady Saupe bsaupe01@rio.edu

 

Extra-Curricular Organizations

Alpha Chi Nu (Archon)
Description: The purpose of the Fraternal Order of Archon shall be to foster and maintain a fraternal spirit among its members, to encourage scholastic achievement, and to inculcate those principles of truth, justice, chivalry and culture that contribute to the development of upstanding character. Membership is invitation-only and is open to all male students of the University of Rio Grande. 
Advisor: David Brodeur dbrodeur@rio.edu  
President: Holden Fritz hfritz01@rio.edu  

Alpha Mu Beta
Description: The objectives of the Alpha Mu Beta sorority shall be to create a meaningful and long-lasting union among its members, stimulate all forms of scholastic achievement and cultivate an appreciation of the higher social and moral values in life. Membership is invitation-only and open to all female members of the University of Rio Grande. 
Advisor: Billina C. Donaldson billinad@rio.edu
President: Madalyn McCann mmccann01@rio.edu  

Bass Fishing Club/Team
Description: The purpose of the Bass Fishing Club shall be to encourage camaraderie, sportsmanship, integrity, conservation, and development of the skills and knowledge needed to be successful anglers by competing with other schools in Cabela’s Collegiate Bass Fishing, Fishing League Worldwide and Bass Anglers Sportsman Society fishing tournaments and other fishing tournaments on a local and regional basis. Membership is open to any student in good standing with the University of Rio Grande. 
Advisor: Tom Sutton tsutton@rio.edu 

Chi Omega Alpha
Description: Chi Omega Alpha is the oldest existing sorority at the University of Rio Grande. The foundations of this sorority are build on sisterhood, leadership, and lifelong friendship. In their eyes no girl is an island, and sisterhood is forever. The members are dedicated and hard-working women who focus on community service projects throughout campus and the community. With a philanthropy in Breast Cancer, it is the goal of Chi Omega Alpha to raise money and awareness for breast cancer research each year. You can see many of the Chi-O projects on their Instagram @chioatrio. Membership is invitation only and open to all female members of the University of Rio Grande. Love in Athena.
Advisor: Melissa Roush melissar@rio.edu
President: Anna Ackley aackley01@rio.edu

Delta Theta
Description: The purpose of the Delta Theta sorority is to develop and maintain sisterhood among the women of the University of Rio Grande, to promote scholarship and to serve the campus and community of the University of Rio Grande. Membership is invitation-only and open to female students of the University of Rio Grande. 
Advisor: Marinda Cook mcook@rio.edu
President: Victoria Wilson vwilson01@rio.edu

Title IX Student Advisory Board                                                                                            Description: Title IX Advisory board is a  voluntary group of student leaders who strive to promote a safe, inclusive, respectful campus culture. What we do is raise awareness about ongoing efforts to reduce discrimination, sexual harassment and sexual misconduct on campus. Work closely with other students and Title IX to develop, carryout, and/or evaluate related programs, events, and activities. Provide student perspectives and input on policies, procedures, programs, and support services available to students. 

Advisor: Chris Nourse cnourse@rio.edu

President: Delaney Purtee dpurtee01@rio.edu                                                                                      

The Gaming Organization
Description: The mission of the Rio Gaming Organization is to promote the expansion of the gaming community as well as the networking between gamers. Game genres include, but are not limited to console games, PC games, board games, card games, role-play games and miniatures. Membership is open to all students of the University of Rio Grande. 
Advisor: Alex Gagucas agagucas@rio.edu 
President: Traven Walker twalker01@rio.edu 

Rio Grande Veterans Organizations
Description: Our mission is to serve as an advocate and comprehensive support apparatus for the Student Veteran and the Student Veteran families attending the University of Rio Grande/Rio Grande Community College by providing information, networking opportunities, and guidance to aid the Veterans’, their families and our non-traditional students’ intellectual and professional success. Membership is open to any full-time student who is either a veteran or a dependent, sibling, or spouse of a veteran or active duty member of the United States Armed Forces.
Advisor: Scott Beekman sbeekman@rio.edu 

Community Organizations

Reach Out on Campus
Description: Reach Out on Campus is a community of people who seek to glorify Jesus Christ. We desire to put a spotlight on Jesus through our words and actions in the Rio Grande community. ROC meets every Monday at 6pm in Bob Evans Farms Hall 111 – all are welcome to join.
Advisor: Noelle Mash noellemash@gmail.com 

SEARCH
Description: SEARCH stands for Seeking Every Answer and Response Christ Has. The group conducts weekly, non-denominational campus-wide Bible studies every Wednesday in Bob Evans Farms Hall 118 starting at 7:30pm. SEARCH also plans numerous activities throughout the year and are open to all. 
Advisor: Dave Perry dg.perry55@gmail.com 
 

Join The Fun

The Office of Student Engagement is a one-stop-shop for getting involved outside of the classroom. Our office can connect students with opportunities including student organizations, leadership development, campus events, and traditions. Joining in on the fun is easy at Rio, whether you are a singer, fisher, movie buff, gamer – or want to try these out for the first time.

Seth Lawrence

  • Dean of Students