Veteran of the Year Announced

Rio Grande, Ohio – The University of Rio Grande and Rio Grande Community College is honored once again to celebrate our veterans who continue to serve their communities and country. Rio’s “Jim Marshall Veteran of the Year Award” recognizes veterans who have gone above and beyond the call of duty. This year marks the fifth year for the award. This year’s recipient is Dr. Terry A. Johnson, D.O. of Scioto County, OH.

Dr. Johnson retired as a Colonel and Senior Flight Surgeon, last position held was Ohio State Surgeon, Army. He also served 21 years in the Ohio Army National Guard.

A celebration and award dinner scheduled for Saturday, October 31 has been rescheduled due to the pandemic for later in the spring. The event will honor Dr. Johnson as well as provide a free dinner for veterans.

Share This