Edwin A. Jones
Excellence in Teaching Award

The award is named after Edwin A. Jones, a former Jackson resident who excelled in several areas in his life.  He was a stare quarterback at Yale, where also was an outstanding track athlete and equaled the world record in the 60-yard dash.  As a scholar, Jones was elected to the prestigious Skull & Bones Honor Society, and as a performer he was a member of the famed Whiffenpoof singing group.He has a successful industrial career, including his work in Jackson where he headed the Globe Iron Company, as well as other companies in nearby towns.  He also involved in community and philantropic organizations and was committed to helping higher education.  Jones provided for Rio Grande to reqard teachers  who excel on campus.  This award, which is presented each year to an outstanding faculty member at Rio Grande, is voted on by the Rio Grande faculty member.

School of Sciences Award Winners

Dr. T. Michael Rhodes,
Professor, Mathematics, 1986

Mr. Thomas Osborne,
Associate Professor of Biology, 1992

Mr. Benjamin Forshey,
Associate Professor of Computer Science, 1995

Dr. Paul Holeski,
Professor of Biology, 1997

Dr. William Stitt,
Professor of Mathematics/Physics, 1999

Dr. Linda Sigismondi,
Professor of Biology, 2001

Dr. Jacob White,
Associate Professor of Chemistry, 2011

Dr. Don Althoff,
Associate Professor of Biology, 2014

Dr. John Means,
Associate Professor of Chemistry, 2018