RedStorm's Spies named to All-MSC Baseball First Team

Rio Grande/MSC Sports Information

RIO GRANDE, Ohio – University of Rio Grande left fielder Shane Spies was named to the All-Mid-South Conference Baseball first team, while RedStorm shortstop Kyle Perez earned a second team selection during the league’s annual awards banquet prior to the start of MSC Tournament play last weekend in Kingsport, Tenn.

Spies, a senior from Polk, Ohio, finished the regular season with a league-leading 15 home runs and 52 runs batted in. He also led the conference in slugging percentage (.741) and total bases (120) and, at the time, the 15 home runs also led all of NAIA Division I.

Spies also topped the RedStorm in batting average (.358) and was second on the team in doubles with 15.

Perez, a senior from Casselberry, Fla., led the RedStorm with 65 hits, was tied for the team lead with two triples and ranked second on the team with a .351 batting average. His 57 runs scored ranked first in the league and, at the time, fourth nationally.

Lindsey Wilson senior Manny Alonso outdistanced Spies in voting for the league’s Player of the Year award while junior Anthony Gomez of regular season champion Cumberland (TN) University was the MSC Pitcher of the Year.

Alonso led the Mid-South during the regular season in batting average (.430), hits (77) and hits per game (1..51). He finished third in the conference in both RBIs (45) and on-base percentage (.502).

Nationally, Alonso ranked third in hits and ninth in batting average.

Gomez led the Mid-South in ERA (0..95) and runs allowed (10) and tied for the conference lead with 10 wins during the regular season. In his 77 innings pitched, opponents hit just .200 -- which was third best in the conference.

Gomez's ERA ranked third in the NAIA, while his 10 wins were tied for fourth most nationally.

Cumberland's Chris Hall was selected MSC Freshman of the Year and Shawnee State's Aaron Suydam was the MSC Baseball Champions of Character recipient.

Hall finished second behind Alonso in hitting this season at .406. He led the MSC in 2013 with a .533 on-base percentage and ranked fifth in runs scored.

Suydam earned the conference's Champions of Character award -- as voted on by the conference athletics director -- based on his academic and athletic achievement, campus and community leadership, future ambition and a demonstration of five core character values of the NAIA.

Cumberland University’s Woody Hunt was named the MSC Baseball Coach of the Year after leading the Bulldogs to the regular season title and the top seed in the tournament.

Seventeen players earned first-team all-conference while another 17 were named to the conference's second team.


Joining Spies, Alonso, Gomez and Hall on the All-MSC first team were catchers Tommy Meier of UVA-Wise and Keaton Neeb of Campbellsville; first baseman Craig Monson of Cumberland University; St. Catharine second baseman K.C. Mejia; shortstop Cory Urquhart of Cumberland University; Pikeville third baseman Erik Manning; infielder Claudio Valencia of the University of the Cumberlands; St. Catharine outfielder Carlos Hernandez; Georgetown designated hitter Ryan Serrato; pitchers Darren Travers and Chris Erker of Lindsey Wilson and Dylan Shoffner from St. Catharine; and Georgetown reliever Chris Villalobos.

The Player of the Year, Pitcher of the Year, Freshman of the Year and All-Conference selections are voted on by the coaches. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

The conference's gold glove team was selected based on fielding percentage throughout the season at each position.