Symphonic Band hosts A Tribute to Gershwin

November 19, 2013

RIO GRANDE, Ohio – Some of the finest works in popular and classical music will grace the Berry Fine & Performing Arts Center with A Tribute to Gershwin on Thursday, Nov. 21.

The annual fall concert performed by the Symphonic Band at the University of Rio Grande/Rio Grande Community College is free and open to the public. The show is scheduled for 8 p.m.

Gershwin is one of America’s most accomplished and celebrated musical artists. The composer and pianist is one of only three songwriters awarded the Congressional Gold Medal (1985), won a Pulitzer Prize (1931) for the Broadway drama “Of Thee I Sing,” wrote the collegiate football fight song “Strike Up The Band for UCLA,” and has seen his works performed by countless artists ranging from Fred Astaire and Frank Sinatra to Madonna and Sublime.

“Lots of memorable, singable melodies from the 1930s and 40s,” Symphonic Band Director Gary Stewart said. “His compositions revolutionized American classical music.”

A Tribute to Gershwin will include performances of “Rhapsody In Blue,” “They Can’t Take That Away From Me,” and “Three Preludes.”

The Symphonic Band consists of 55 to 65 musicians featuring Rio Grande faculty, Instrumental Music majors, Music students, and community members. The concert also will feature pianist Sonny Sunquist and Vocal adjunct professor Valerie Tanner.

Symphonic Band members include Justine Baker (tenor saxophone), Levi Belliter (percussion), Gary Billups (alto saxophone), Chelsey Bootz (clarinet), Haley Breeden (clarinet), Shelbie Davies (French horn), Allison Davis (tenor saxophone), Ken Dodson (trumpet), Diane Downard (French horn), Kim Faro (tuba), Heather Guinther (alto saxophone), Jeff Hilbert (trumpet), Jacob Hocker (trumpet), Paul Hogue (trombone), Kenni Horton (piccolo), Allen Hudson (percussion), Kathy Huffman (trumpet), Tim Huffman (trombone), Joee Jarvis (flute), Melanie Lawrence (French horn), Jeremy Martin (bass guitar), Allison Nolan (flute), Adam Phillips (tuba), Dave Phillips (clarinet), Tom Phillips (trumpet), Matt Rhinehart (trombone), Bambi Roush (tuba), Jason Sanford (baritone saxophone), Phillip Saxton (alto saxophone), Vicky Sheets (flute), Glenna Skinner (clarinet), Cassandra Thompson (oboe), Skylar Thompson (percussion), Valerie Valentine (trumpet), Jeannie Wilson (baritone), and Brooke Wolni (French horn).