AQIP Steering Team


The University of Rio Grande/Rio Grande Community College charges the AQIP Steering Team to coordinate /oversee all issues related to AQIP Accreditation on an ongoing basis and to provide overall guidance for Rio's Continuous Quality Improvement.


Specific responsibilities include (but are not limited to) coordinating/overseeing:


To ensure continuing opportunities for broad-based involvement and leadership development in AQIP accreditation activities the Steering Team will include permanent members and non-permanent members.
Permanent Members:
Dr. Michelle R. Johnston, President
Dr. Richard Sax, Provost/Vice President of Academic Affairs
Mr. Paul Harrison, Exec Vice President
Dr. David Lawrence, Associate Provost, Dean of Arts and Sciences, AQIP Liaison
Ms. Rebecca Long, Chief Administrative Officer, Rio Grande Community College
Prof. Benjy Davies, Assessment Coordinator, Professor of Art
Dr. Steve Cox, Director, Management Information Services (MIS)

Non-Permanent Members (2 year terms):
Mr. Kent Haley, Chief Financial Officer, Rio Grande Community College
Mr. Aaron Quinn, Dean of Students
Dr. Scott Beekman, Assistant Professor of History
Prof. Nasseef Abukamail, Associate Professor of Computer Science
Dr. Robert Hopkins, Associate Professor of Biology
Mr. Chris Nourse, Director, Human Resources